Campus Meters > Thurgood Marshall College

Thurgood Marshall College (or TMC) is one of the six undergraduate colleges at the University of California, San Diego. The college, named after Thurgood Marshall, the first African-American Supreme Court Justice and lawyer for the landmark 1954 Supreme Court case Brown v. Board of Education, emphasizes "scholarship, social responsibility and the belief that a liberal arts education must include an understanding of [one's] role in society." Marshall College's general education requirements emphasize this culture of community involvement and multiculturalism; accordingly Marshall houses the minors in community service and African-American studies for the campus. Founded as Third College 1970 amid the student activism of the period, TMC's original aim was to help students understand their own community and the greater context of that community in the United States.

Buildings in Thurgood Marshall College